top of page

Your scale is a liar. Here's why...


Helping people become healthy is a wonderful job for me. I love the feeling of knowing that these people are working for the health, living more active lives, and actually feeling better.

However, there have been cases where I get the disappointed people who are asking "Why am I not losing weight!"

First let's talk about what weight is. Weight is equal to mass times the gravitational pull. Here's the kicker. To change your weight, you have to change your actual mass size.

Now, I know... you're not here for a science lesson, but let me explain a couple things really quickly. Gravity changes. Whether you are measuring yourself on the coast or in the mountains, there will be a difference in your weight. The gravity on Earth is different than the gravity on the moon so to say. You can be the exact same size and mass, and have different weights based off of where you are in the world, or the universe for that matter.

We have to break this cycle of "trying to lose weight." Your job should be to try to be healthier and the best you can be.

I have been working out for weeks now and guess what... I have only lost 2 lbs! Yep, you heard me 2 lbs. Am I upset? Not AT ALL!

To better gauge your fitness level and if changes are truly happening, use a measuring tape. This is going to show you how things are really changing. Yeah I've only lost 2 lbs, But I've lost 7 inches worth of fat all over my body! My clothes are fitting better and people are noticing, even though I haven't lost but 2 lbs of weight.

The first workout I did, I was sweating like a pig, and stopped 4 times for a water break! And that was in 30 minutes! Now, weeks later, I cued up that first workout, did the entire thing never breaking my fat burning zone for heart rate and didn't have to stop for the water. I'm getting better!

So stop fretting over the scale. It will happen eventually. If you feel you NEED to weigh yourself, only do it once a week at the same time, and then move on. You are getting better. You should be able to start feeling it very soon, and people will start seeing it!

Best of luck everyone! And if you need help with motivation and accountability while you're on your journey, reach out to me! I'd love to work with you and help you become the best you can be!

bottom of page